Four Bahrainis were crowned champions of their respective categories in the 2017/2018 Bahrain Drag Racing Championship at BIC.

Mohammed Al Jalahma, Mohammed bin Hasher, Nawaf Al Mannai and Yousif Al Zayani each took home some coveted silverware after flying the kingdom’s flag with pride throughout the season.

The homegrown talents had dream endings to their individual campaigns, as they each triumphed in the fifth and final round of the season, held this past weekend at BIC in Sakhir.

Bahrainis triumphant during season and at finale

Al Mannai was the new champion in the Super Street 6-Cylinder. The Bahraini ace had twice the reason to celebrate after also claiming the season-ending round in 7.188s, beating fellow-Bahraini Ahmed Al Balooshi’s time of 7.528s.

Al Zayani was Bahrain’s fourth champion. He emerged number one in the Outlaw 6-Cylinder class, after ending the season in style with a final race of 6.998s, winning by the narrowest of margins against countryman Mohammed Shakeeb who had a pass of 7.158s.

Meanwhile, Turki Al Humaidi of Kuwait was crowned champion in two categories, namely the Super Street V8 and the Pro Mod. He too ended the season on a positive note, not only taking his titles but also claiming a double win in the fifth and final round.

In the Super Street V8, Al Humaidi beat fellow-Kuwaiti Mohammed Qassim in the final, clocking a time of 4.193s, beating Qassim’s 4.840s. Then, in the Pro Mod category, Al Huamidi triumphed over Bahrain star Khaled Mohammed with a winning time of 3.743s.

Kuwaitis clinch their own series of titles

Elsewhere in the championship, four other Kuwaitis came away with the season’s titles. They included Sulaiman Al Dawood in the Index 10.50, Ahmed Al Arrouj for the Street Bike, Misfer Al Misfer in the Super Street Bike and Mishal Al Saber in the Pro Bike.

Al Dawood, Al Arrouj and Al Misfer were all also winners in round five.

Al Dawood had a title-securing win against Bahraini Ebrahim Khalil in the final. For Al Arrouj, his win in the Street Bike was doubly sweet after defeating countryman Bader Bin Eidan with a 7.922s run in the final. Bin Eidan was not far behind with a time of 7.981s. In Al Misfer’s win, the Kuwaiti had a final elapsed time of 4.433s, defeating the 4.870s of Saudi Arabia’s Mishari Al Turki.

Rounding out the list of champions were the Saudi duo of Nabeel Al Essa and Mohammed Bu Saloom. Al Essa clinched the crown in the Outlaw 10.5 while Bu Saloom won the Competition 4.5 title.

Al Essa won his final race, beating compatriot Abdulla Al Shamsi. Salim Nasser of Kuwait won the final race of the season in the Competition 4.5 class, where he beat countryman Ahmed Al Zaabi in the final.

Podium Presentation and End-of-Season Awards Ceremony

At the end of the round, the winners were presented their respective trophies.

Then, on Saturday night, BIC hosted the championship’s End-of-Season Awards Presentation Ceremony, where the newly crowned champions each received their coveted trophies as well as a prestigious “Wally”, given in honour of champions from sanctioned events of the US-based National Hot Rod Association.

In attendance at the awarding were BIC Chief Executive Shaikh Salman bin Isa Al Khalifa, and officials from the Bahrain Drag Racing Club, the Bahrain Motorcycle Club and the Bahrain Motor Federation.

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.