Bahraini drivers shone brightest during the fourth and penultimate round of the 2015/2016 Bahrain Drag Racing Championship.

Seven of the 14 competition categories were won by local talent.

Salah Salahuddin, Adel Hassan, Mohamed Mubarak, Hammad Al Murbati, Mohammed Shakeeb, Raed Hussain and Fahim Zahran were each victorious in their respective classes.

Salahuddin clinched first place in the highly competitive Street V8 category. He battled Mohamed Sulyman in the final and won with a blistering run of 8.091 seconds. Sulyman clocked a time of 8.263s in defeat. Hussain Mohammed finished third.

Salahuddin commented:

“It was a tough round for us; we had some issues with the car but the guys at SMS Racing were able to get everything under control in time.”

It was the third victory from four tries this season for Salahuddin, who is one of Bahrain’s more renowned all-around racers. He now heads to the championship finale as the favourite to claim his class title.

“We are looking good for the championship, but of course, anything can come up out of nowhere so we always must be prepared,”

“Of course, we want to finish the season strong. We always come with the intention to win, and that will be no different next week.”

Adel Hassan won the Street 4 and 6 category. He clocked a mark of 9.521s in the final to beat Jamil Ebrahim Hilal, who clocked in at 10.759s. Abdulaziz Faisal was ranked third.

Mohamed Mubarak triumphed in the Outlaw Front-Wheel-Drive class with a run of 9.871s against Mahmood Mohamed. The losing time of 12.609s left Mohamed with the runner-up spot. Zakreya Abdulla took the final podium.

Hammad Al Murbati continued the Bahraini contingent’s success in the Super Street 6-Cylinder category. He won with a time of 7.308s, beating Mohamed Shakeeb’s 7.761s in the final.

Shakeeb bounced back to claim the winner’s podium in the Outlaw 6-Cylinder class. He had a mark of 6.669s. Mohammed Zainalabdin was second in 8.721s, whereas American Gary White finished third.

Raed Hussain won in the Index 10.5 class with a time of 10.501s in the final against Ebrahim Khalil, who narrowly lost with a 10.530s mark. Wael Al Kafi finished third.

Fahim Zahran rounded out the Bahraini winners for the round after beating Ahmed Al Haddad with a run of 9.564s in the final. Al Haddad had to settle for second place with a mark of 9.906s. Abdulla Munif was classified third.

Other winners:

  • Super Street V8: Abdulla Kudada
  • Competition 4.5: Jaber Almagrbi
  • Outlaw 10.5: Yousif Mohammed
  • Pro Mod: Mustafa Al Atat
  • Street Bike: Masfer Al Masfer
  • Super Street Bike: Ahmed Bin Bilal
  • Pro Bike: Jasim Al Sadi

At the end of all the action, the winners were handed over their respective trophies in a lively podium ceremony. BDRC president Fahad Taqi was present to give away the awards.

The thrilling meeting set the stage for an exciting climax to the season, which is scheduled for a fifth and final round this week from Tuesday to Friday, March 1 to 4.

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.